Why Indian Cards Are Suddenly Giving Free Accor+ Explorer
Updated as of 24 Oct 2026. Membership details from Accor+ India’s partner pages for HDFC Bank, Axis Bank, American Express and RuPay EKAA, and from each bank’s terms, checked 24 Oct 2026. Price history and the value of the free nights are from our ALL Accor+ Explorer guide.
For years, the only way to get ALL Accor+ Explorer free in India was a ₹5 crore Axis Burgundy Private relationship. In October alone, HDFC put it on SmartBuy for points and ICICI added it to its new 1838 Reserve card. Now RuPay’s top-tier EKAA cards give it free for 12 months. It looks like every super-premium card wants Accor now. Here’s who gives what, why it’s happening, and the catch most of these offers share.
TL;DR
- Seven Indian card offers now include Explorer, up from a handful a year ago.
- Most are a lighter version: Gold status and 30% off dining, but no Stay Plus free nights, which are the part that pays for the ₹23,199 membership.
- Only Axis Burgundy Private gives both free nights. RuPay EKAA gives one.
- The best-value new deal isn’t free: HDFC cardholders can buy the full Explorer for ₹19,499 with a ₹4,000 dining voucher.
- Why now: Indian points collectors already hold fixed-value Accor points and want the status to match. Accor wants Indian members for its India expansion, and the version without free nights costs it little to give away.

Every Indian card that gives Accor+ Explorer
| Card | How you get it | Free nights | Status | Catch |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Axis Burgundy Private | Free, renews every year | 2 | Gold (30 nights) | ₹5 crore relationship |
| RuPay EKAA cards (such as PNB Luxura Metal) new | Free for 12 months, claimed on Accor’s site | 1 | Gold (30 nights) | Accor doesn’t list which banks’ cards qualify; checked at sign-up |
| ICICI 1838 Reserve new | Included with the card | Not stated | Gold | ₹1.75 lakh + GST a year, by invitation |
| HDFC Infinia, Diners Club Black, BizBlack Metal new | 10,000 reward points on SmartBuy | 0 | Gold (30 nights) | New members only; codes expire 17 Dec 2026 |
| HDFC Regalia Gold, BizPower new | 20,000 reward points on SmartBuy | 0 | Gold (30 nights) | Same as above |
| Amex Platinum Charge, Platinum Reserve | Free with the card | 0 | Silver (20 nights) | Cut-down version |
| Axis Reserve | Free, renews with the card | 1 | Silver | Axis’s terms still describe the old Accor Plus |
| IDFC FIRST Private | Free, with the fee | Not stated | Silver | Invite only; older Accor Plus terms |
Still missing: SBI Card, Kotak, HSBC and IndusInd. Kotak’s White Reserve is reported as a RuPay EKAA card, so it may qualify through RuPay. Check at Accor’s sign-up page before you count on it.
Why it’s happening now
1. Indian points collectors already live in Accor. ALL points have a fixed value: 2,000 points take €40 off a stay, so each point is worth about ₹2.12 at any Accor hotel, on any date. No award charts, no blackout dates. That’s why so many Indian card users moved points to Accor in the Axis era, and why many still sit on balances. The pipeline is still open: HSBC TravelOne and Premier transfer 1:1, SBI Card MILES 2:1, HDFC Infinia 2:1, and Axis still transfers: 5:4 on Burgundy Private, 5:2 on Magnus for Burgundy, and 5:1 on the standard Magnus. People who already hold ALL points want the status to go with them, and Explorer is the easy way to get it.
Gold is easy, Platinum is within reach. Explorer’s 30 status nights give you Gold on day one. Platinum needs 60, so about 30 paid nights on top gets you there, which is realistic for a frequent business traveller. That’s a status ladder most hotel programmes don’t offer Indians this cheaply.
2. Accor wants Indian members, fast. In April 2025 Accor teamed up with InterGlobe, the group behind IndiGo, to run its India growth. The target is 300 hotels in India by 2030, from 71 in 2025. Explorer is how Accor turns hotel guests and diners into regulars. One bank deal brings in thousands of members at once.
3. Accor is selling it to partners openly. Accor+ now has a “Partner with Accor Plus” page that pitches Explorer to businesses as a loyalty perk for customers and staff. Cards are the obvious buyer.
4. The free version is cheap to give. The expensive part of Explorer is the free nights, and most card versions drop them. What’s left (Gold status, 30% off dining, 15% off stays) costs Accor little and brings people into its restaurants. That’s our read, but the pattern is clear: HDFC, Amex and Visa’s Asian trial all leave out the free nights.
5. Card networks are competing on it. Visa has given Visa Infinite cardholders a free 6-month Explorer across much of Asia since June 2026 (Singapore was added in October), but not India. RuPay has now gone further for India with 12 months on EKAA, its new top tier, including one free night.
6. The paid price has jumped. Explorer went from ₹19,499 to ₹23,199 for new members on 1 Oct 2026. A “free ₹23,199 membership” makes a striking line in a card brochure, even if the version you get is lighter.
Free isn’t the full membership
| Paid Explorer | RuPay EKAA | HDFC points version | Amex | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cost | ₹23,199 | Free | 10,000 points (about ₹10,000) | Free |
| Stay Plus free nights | 2 | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Status | Gold | Gold | Gold | Silver |
| 30% off food, 15% off drinks | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| 15% off stays worldwide | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
Two free nights at a Novotel or Pullman in India, or a Sofitel abroad, are worth ₹16,000–30,000 in our maths. That’s most of the membership’s value. Without them, a free Explorer is a dining card with Gold status: useful if you eat at Accor hotels, not worth ₹23,199.
Don’t stack two. Since 1 Oct 2025, Accor counts at most 30 status nights a year from all memberships combined. If one card already gives you Gold, a second free Explorer adds nothing.
HDFC’s paid offer beats its free one
Accor has a second, quieter page for HDFC cardholders: the full Explorer for ₹19,499, both free nights included, plus a ₹4,000 dining voucher. That’s ₹3,700 below the normal price. If you use the voucher, the real cost is about ₹15,500. Accor’s page doesn’t give an end date or the voucher terms.
- Will use both free nights: pay ₹19,499. Two nights alone are worth more.
- Only want Gold and the dining discount: spend 10,000 points instead, and keep your cash.
What to do
| You are… | What to do |
|---|---|
| Holding a RuPay EKAA card | ✅ Claim it now on Accor’s RuPay EKAA page; one free night alone covers the effort |
| Holding an HDFC credit card, planning two Accor trips | ✅ Buy the full one at ₹19,499 through Accor’s HDFC page |
| Holding HDFC Infinia, eating at Accor hotels but rarely staying | ⚠️ Spend 10,000 points before 17 December |
| Holding Amex Platinum | ⚠️ You already have the lighter version. Buy the full one only for the free nights |
| Thinking of getting a card just for Accor | ❌ Don’t. The paid Explorer costs less than any of these cards’ fees |
More on Accor: how points and status work in our Accor ALL guide for Indians, and the full price history in our ALL Accor+ Explorer guide.
DealUni take: Accor is everywhere on Indian cards now because the version without free nights is cheap to give away. Take the free one if it comes with your card, but don’t confuse it with the ₹23,199 membership. The free nights are the prize. Muft mein mila hai, par poora nahi mila. (You got it free, but you didn’t get all of it.)
Sources: Accor+: RuPay EKAA; Accor+: HDFC Bank; Accor+: HDFC limited-time offer; Accor+: Axis Bank; Accor+: American Express; Accor+: partner with us; Axis Burgundy Private Accor terms; Axis Reserve Accor terms; IDFC FIRST Private Accor terms; ICICI 1838 Reserve; Visa: ALL Accor+ Explorer offer (Asia); Hospitality Net: Accor and InterGlobe partnership. Checked 24 Oct 2026.
Follow DealUni
Get Indian credit-card deals, points offers and the catches—without the noise.
